Künstler/-innen

Damian Le Bas

Initiator

Damian Le Bas wurde 1963 in Sheffield, U.K., geboren. Er studierte 1985 bis 1987 am Royal College of Art London und war einer der sechzehn Künstler*innen, die Paradise Lost, das erste Roma-Pavillon im Rahmen der Venedig Biennale 2007 realisierten. Zusammen mit seiner Frau, der Künstlerin Delaine Le Bas, kreierte er Safe European Home?, eine Reihe […]

Weiterlesen

Delaine Le Bas

Co-Kurator

Delaine Le Bas wurde 1965 in Worthing, U.K., geboren. Sie studierte an der St Martins School Of Art in London. Delaine ist eine interdisziplinäre Künstlerin, die Installationen, Performance, Fotografie und Film schafft. Ihre Arbeiten befassen sich mit Fragen der Identität, Rassismus, Geschlecht, Sexualität und der anhaltenden Gewalt und Ausgrenzung gegen diejenigen, die in der Gesellschaft […]

Weiterlesen

Hamze Bytyçi

Co-Kurator

Hamze Bytyçi geboren 1982 in Prizren / Kosovo, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. 2005 absolvierte er die Schauspielschule in Freiburg und gründete die Organisation Amaro Drom (Our Way) Nach einem einjährigen Engagement in Zürich zog er 2006 nach Berlin, wo er im Ballhaus Naunynstraße (Romeo rennt), im Maxim Gorki Theater (Journey / Drom, Roma Armee) […]

Weiterlesen

Charles Newland ist ein Roma-Filmregisseur mit Sitz in Nottingham, Großbritannien. Er ist Gründer des Filmkollektivs Notown Films und ein Gründungsmitglied der International Romani Film Commission. Seine Arbeit wurde bei BBC, VICE, BFI und The Guardian präsentiert, und seine Filme wurden auf einer Vielzahl von internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt. Newland begann seine Karriere im Bereich des Avantgarde- […]

Weiterlesen

Dan Turner ist Künstler und Pädagoge aus London, ein Rom, der in Kent geboren wurde und dessen Familie immer noch in Südosten Londons mit vielen Verbindungen zur Kultur der britischen Roma* lebt. Turner studierte an der Central St Martins School of Art, wo er den Bachelor-Titel in Bildender Kunst (Skulptur) gewann. Er arbeitet interdisziplinär zwischen […]

Weiterlesen

Gabi Jimenez lebt und arbeitet in Frankreich. Seit langem setzt er sich für die Erinnerung an Tragödien und soziale Ungerechtigkeit und für die Sichtbarkeit des Lebens derer ein, von denen man nicht spricht. Er ist einer der führenden Künstler*innen aus diskriminierten Minderheiten, der dazu beigetragen hat, dass sich aus dem ersten Roma-Pavillon auf der Internationalen […]

Weiterlesen

Jeffrey Wynne ist ein 28-jähriger interdisziplinärer bildender Künstler, der in Vancouver, Kanada, lebt und arbeitet. Seine Arbeiten sind inspiriert von Landschaften, die ihn umgeben. Er wuchs in der Stadt Victoria auf, an einem Ort namens Vancouver Island. Durch das Gebiet, in dem er lebt, zieht sich die Grenze zwischen den USA und Kanada, und es […]

Weiterlesen

Kálmán Várady wurde 1958 in Hoffnungsthal, in der Nähe von Köln geboren. Seine ungarische Herkunft hat sein persönliches Leben stark beeinflusst und war immer eine große Inspiration für seine künstlerische Arbeit. Er studierte an der Kunsthochschule in Köln und wurde Meisterschüler bei Professor Wolfgang Schriefer. Während dieser Zeit bereiste er die ganze Welt. Besonders Afrika, […]

Weiterlesen

Kristóf Horváth wurde in Budapest geboren, wo er auch lebt und arbeitet. Er ist ebenfalls als Színész Bob (Schauspieler-Bob) bekannt und hat einen theatralischen Hintergrund: Deswegen würde er es bevorzugen, Drama zu meiden, doch dies ist zugleich der Grund, warum es ihm nicht gelingt. Seine Familie wollte nicht, dass er ein Musikinstrument spielt, so dass […]

Weiterlesen

Ludovic Versace ist ein Künstler, der derzeit in Lyon, Frankreich, lebt. Er machte seinen Abschluss an der Emile Cohl Art School, wo er heute unterrichtet. Er arbeitet hauptsächlich mit animierten Bildern, wobei er Zeichnungen und Videos in fiktionalen oder dokumentarischen Projekten kombiniert. Sein Engagement im politischen Bereich führte ihn in die Pariser Vororte (Seine Saint […]

Weiterlesen

Mba Bikoros Arbeit analysiert Prozesse von Macht und Science Fiction in historischen Archiven, die sich kritisch mit Migrationskämpfen und kolonialer Erinnerung auseinandersetzen und sich auf queere indigene und feministische Biopolitik konzentrieren. Die Künstlerin schafft immersive performative Umgebungen für alternative Narrative und Zukunftsspekulationen kolonialer Widerstandsbewegungen, die von afrikanischen Frauen der deutschen Diaspora und indigenen Communities geführt […]

Weiterlesen

Nihad Nino Pušija (D/BIH) wurde 1965 in Sarajevo, Bosnien und Herzegowina geboren, und ist Fotokünstler. In seiner Arbeit fokussiert er sich vor allem auf Dokumentar- und Portraitfotografie, mit dem Ziel, Identitäten von Roma* in Berlin festzuhalten, wo er die letzten 29 Jahre lebt, sowie in anderen Teilen Europas. Zu den wichtigen Themen seiner Arbeit gehören Politiken […]

Weiterlesen

Patricia Pientka ist in einer Familie zwischen Deutschland und Spanien aufgewachsen und lebt diesen multi-basierten Lebensstil bis heute. Aktuell lebt sie in Berlin und Indien. In Berlin hat sie Neuere und Neueste Geschichte, Mittelalterliche Geschichte und Philosophie studiert und war und manchmal noch ist aktiv in Projekten in Bezug zu Geschichte und Gegenwart von Sinti* […]

Weiterlesen

Roland Korponovics ist ein Medienkünstler, der in Budapest, Ungarn, lebt und arbeitet.2016 schloss er sein Studium am Institut für Intermedialität an der Ungarischen Universität derBildenden Künste in Budapest ab.Sein Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf den visuellen Repräsentationen der LGBT+ Community an einer Schnittstelle der kontrastierenden globalistischen Ansätze westlicher und östlicher kultureller Narrative. In dem er diese Identitäten […]

Weiterlesen

Roma Jam Session art Kollektiv (RJSaK) wurde im Juli 2013 durch Mo Diener, RRMarki und Milena Petrovic in Zürich gegründet. Das Künstler*innen-Kollektiv bewegt sich auf verschiedenen Plattformen (Kunst, Politik, Theater, Festivals, öffentlicher Raum). Dessen Performances haben sich formell von Dada-Performances zu öffentlichen Roma-Futurismus-Performances sowie Performance-Lectures und Meditationen entwickelt. Aktuell fokussiert sich das RJSaK auf Aspekte […]

Weiterlesen

Sead Kazanxhiu wurde 1987 in Fier, Albanien, geboren und lebt seit 2012 in Tirana. Kazanxhiu ist ein bildender Künstler aus dem Südwesten Albaniens und wurde von 2006 – 2010 an der Universität der Künste in Tirana als Maler ausgebildet, wo er seinen Bachelor-Abschluss machte. Nach seinem Studium hat er weiterhin hauptsächlich im Medium der Malerei […]

Weiterlesen

Selma Selman wurde 1991 in Bosnien und Herzegowina geboren und ist eine Romni. Sie erwarb 2014 den Titel Bachelor of Fine Arts an der Abteilung für Malerei der Universität Banja Luka. 2018 schloss sie an der Syracuse University mit einem Master of Fine Arts in Transmedia, Bildende und Darstellende Künste ab. Selman ist Teil des […]

Weiterlesen

Sujatro Ghosh ist ein multidisziplinärer Künstler und Aktivist, der in Berlin lebt. Seine Kunst übt aktive Kritik an den hegemonialen Machtstrukturen und institutionalisierten Mechanismen der Ungerechtigkeit.Der Künstler aus Tollygunge (Kolkata) arbeitet mit den Rechten von Queers, diasporischen Spannungen und Frauenrechten.  Er glaubt, dass Kunst, die ein Gespräch über soziales Handeln initiiert, zu einer Form des […]

Weiterlesen

Artists

Damian Le Bas

Initiator

Damian Le Bas was born in Sheffield U.K in 1963. He studied at the Royal College of Art London 1985–1987. He was one of the sixteen artists who were part ofParadise Lost, the first Roma pavilion at Venice Biennale 2007. Together with his wife, the artist Delaine Le Bas, they created Safe EuropeanHome? a series […]

Read more

Delaine Le Bas

Co-Curator

Delaine Le Bas was born in Worthing, U.K, in 1965. She studied at St Martins School Of Art London. Delaine is a cross disciplinary artist creating installations, performance, photography and film. Her works focus on issues of identity, race, gender, sexuality and the continued violence and exclusions against whoever is perceived as “the other” within […]

Read more

Hamze Bytyçi

Co-Curator

Hamze Bytyçi born in 1982 in Prizren/Kosovo, lives and works in Berlin. In 2005 he graduated from acting school in Freiburg and founded the organization Amaro Drom (Our Way). After a one-year engagement in Zurich, he moved to Berlin in 2006, where he performs and directs at Ballhaus Naunynstraße (Romeo rennt), Maxim Gorki Theater (Journey/Drom, […]

Read more

Charles Newland is a Romany Gypsy film director based in Nottingham, UK. He is the founder of film collective Notown Films and an original member of the IRFC. His work has been featured by BBC, VICE, BFI, and The Guardian, and his films have been screened at a variety of international film festivals.  Charles began […]

Read more

Dan Turner is an artist and educator from London, a Romani born in Kent whose family are still based in South East London with its many close associations with Romani culture. Dan trained at Central St Martins School of Art where he completed a BA Honours Degree in Fine Art (Sculpture). He works across media, […]

Read more

Gabi Jimenez lives and works in France. He has long been committed to the memory of tragedies and social injustice and to the visibility of the lives of those whom we do not speak of. He is one of the leading artists from discriminated minorities who has helped to develop an international art movement from […]

Read more

Jeffrey Wynne is a 28-year-old interdisciplinary visual artist who lives and works in Vancouver, Canada. His works are inspired by the landscapes that surround him. He grew up in the city of Victoria, on a place called Vancouver Island. The area where he lives is divided by the US-Canada border and is a region of […]

Read more

Kálmán Várady was born in Hoffnungsthal, close to Cologne, Germany, in 1958. His Hungarian heritage has influenced his personal life greatly and has always been a great inspiration for his art work. He studied at the Academy of Arts (Cologne) and advanced to the master-class student of professor Wolfgang Schriefer. During this period he travelled […]

Read more

Kristóf Horváth was born in Budapest, where he currently lives and works. He is also known as Színész Bob (Actor Bob) and comes from a theatrical background, that’s why he would prefer to avoid drama, but that is also why he can’t. His family didn’t want him to play any musical instruments, so he had […]

Read more

Krzysztof Gil (b. 1987, Kraków) is of Polish Roma origins and grew up in Nowy Targ, Poland. Between 2008-2013, he studied Graphic Design at the Academy of Fine Arts in Krakow. He is the recipient of the Jolanta Kwaśniewska Foundation scholarship ‘Understanding without Barriers’, and a three-time recipient of the Polish Minister of Interior and […]

Read more

Ludovic Versace is an artist, currently living in Lyon, France. He graduated from Emile Cohl Art School where he teaches today. He mainly works with animated images, combining drawing and videos in fictional or documentary projects. His commitment and his involvement in political field led him to the Parisian suburbs (Seine Saint Denis) where he […]

Read more

Małgorzata Mirga-Tas is a Polish-Romani artist and activist. She deals with antigypsyist stereotypes and engages in building an affirmative and situated iconography of a Roma community from a minority feminist perspective. She graduated from the Faculty of Sculpture at the Academy of Fine Arts in Krakow (2004). Her works have been shown at several dozen […]

Read more

Mara was born in 1989, the year in which the borders of the Iron Curtain were met by the Green Belt, a nature reserve along the death strip through Europe that became home to endangered species of birds and plants. Growing up in a little town in Southern Germany she always felt a strong relation […]

Read more

Marcin Tas was born in 1976 and graduated from the Faculty of Printmaking and the Academy of Fine Arts in Krakow (2004). He is a graphic designer and painter. Since 2004, he has been a member of Roma Educational Association Harangos. He is an author of graphic design projects, publications, and posters dedicated to Romani topics, as […]

Read more

Marina Rosselle was born in 1980 and currently lives and works in Lille, France. In 2003, she obtained a Master degree in Fine Art from Valenciennes School of Fine Art and Design, after initially studying art history. She was awarded the Prix de la Fondation de France (2007) and the Prix Galerie for her exhibition […]

Read more

Moshtari Hilal is a visual artist and researcher, living in Hamburg and Berlin. She is the co-founder of the global independent art collective AVAH (Afghan Visual Arts and History), co-founder of Berlin-based research collective CCC (Curating Through Conflict with Care)  (2022) and co-creator of Studio Hilal, a design project dedicated to prints on textile on the nexus of art, fashion and storytelling […]

Read more

Mba Bikoro’s work analyses processes of power and science fiction in historical archives critically engaging in migration struggles and colonial memory focusing on queer indigenous and feminist biopolitics.

Read more

Nihad Nino Pušija (D/BIH) was born 1965 in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Hercegovina, and is a fine art photographer. His work focused primarily on documentary and portrait photography, which aims to capture Roma identity in Berlin, where he has been based for the past 29 years, and elsewhere in Europe. Important themes in his work include the […]

Read more

Nomadic Seeds is a platform for dialogue and exchange about healing plants and a place for the seeds of friendships to grow.

Read more

Patricia Pientka grew up in a family that lived between Germany and Spain and still today she lives this multi-based way of life. Currently, her bases are in Berlin and India. In Berlin, she studied contemporary history and philosophy and is sometimes still active in several projects around the history and presence of Sinti and […]

Read more

Roland Korponovics is a media artist currently living and working in Budapest , Hungary. His main focus is on the visual representations of the LGBT + community at an intersection of the contrasting globalist approaches of western and eastern cultural narratives. Looking at these identities as postmodern products, his main goal is to scan identities […]

Read more

Roma Jam Session art Kollektiv (RJAsK) was founded by Mo Diener, RRMarki and Milena Petrovic in July 2013 in Zurich. The artist collective moves on different platforms (art, politics, theater, festivals, public spaces). Its performances formally developed from dada performances to Roma futuristic public performances as well as performance lectures and meditations. Today, RJSaK is […]

Read more

Sead Kazanxhiu (born in 1987 in Fier and based in Tirana since 2012) is a visual artist from southwest Albania. He was trained as a painter at the University of Arts in Tirana (2006 – 2010), where he obtained his bachelor degree. Following his studies, he continued to work primarily in the medium of painting, […]

Read more

Selma Selman was born in 1991 in Bosnia and Herzegovina and is of Romani origin. She earned her Bachelor of Fine Arts in 2014 from Banja Luka University’s Department of Painting. In 2018 she graduated from Syracuse University with a Master of Fine Arts in Transmedia, Visual and Performing Arts. Selman is part of the two-year Rijksacademi program in Amsterdam

Read more

Sujatro Ghosh is a multi-disciplinary artist and activist based in Berlin. His art actively criticizes the hegemonic power structures and institutionalised mechanisms of injustice. The artist from Tollygunge (Kolkata) works with queer rights, diasporic tensions, women rights. He believes, art that initiates a conversation about social action makes it a form of political protest which […]

Read more

Valérie Leray was born in Chartres, France in 1975. Leray  is a visual artist, photographer, researcher, curator and art director of the artist run Alliance La Mire based in the region Loire Valley (France) and Berlin, setting up an AIR program for visual artists called A Roof Above Your Head in Berlin and a planned […]

Read more